Poetry: Parents


I don’t remember
The first time I opened my eyes,
The first time I felt human touch,
The first time I mouthed a word,
Or the first time I said hello

I don’t remember
The first time I was being fed,
The first time I was being bathed,
The first time I was given attention to,
Or the first time I was being hugged

As I grew up,
The years catch up on me
Quickly

As I grew up,
The years catch up on my parents too,
Too quickly

And through all these years,
I’ve seen my parents’ sacrifices
I’ve felt their love
And then I realized…

Before time stops us from growing,
I want to make sacrifices for them,
and let them know I love them too,

Before it’s
The last time they open their eyes,
The last time they feel human touch,
The last time they mouth a word,
Or the last time they say goodbye

Before it’s
The last time they were being fed,
The last time they were being bathed,
The last time they were given attention to,
Or the last time they were being hugged

 



“If you still have parents – whether in good or in bad terms with, seek forgiveness from them, shower them with love and be there for them. That is all they need from the children they gave birth to. Love them while you still can, and pray for their well-being & happiness.”

 

Nadira Shirlonna 

Leave a Reply

